vestvorti.blogg.se

Cozy grove clams
Cozy grove clams







cozy grove clams

I haven't logged on in awhile and just noticed this post. Cut the clams, discarding any dark meat, and top the pasta with the clams and the sauce they steamed in. I go out past the breakers and collect another pot of saltwater to cook the pasta in. I toss them in a pot with a bottle of white wine, garlic, and butter and steam them till they open - about 15 minutes. My favorite way to cook them is on the beach with my propane stove. The tines of the pitchfork stop like you’ve hit a rock wall. Create a pattern and you’ll soon hit your daily limit of ten for dinner. Stick to the soft sand that is only shin-deep at low tide. Stick your foot in the hole! If it isn’t 4½ inches at its widest points, you have to rebury it in the same hole you dug it out of. It’s in there good, and you feel the heft of it as you wrench it from the sand. Waves will smack you in the face as you’re compromised, but don’t you dare let go of that clam. It should only take you 3 to 4 inches to find the clam.

cozy grove clams

Bend over and start digging where the pitchfork is. Stop moving! Don’t move the pitchfork an inch. Did I hear the pitchfork tine scrape something? Yes, I did. It takes about 45 minutes, but I finally hit one. I don’t want to be freezing for a couple of hours, and I don’t want to have to mess with a wetsuit. I’m clamming to have fun, to get dinner and as part of my day at the beach. A lot of people wade out up to their belly buttons in the cold water in wetsuits. I square up with the park gates and enter the ocean from there. I park in the first lot near the entrance.

Cozy grove clams free#

The beaches in Coronado and Imperial Beach are free and have clams, too. My favorite spot is at the Strand State Park. The clams are on the ocean side of our beaches.









Cozy grove clams